News/Update: Top Ten of 2014

As usual, I had a hard time narrowing the selection down to just ten images, so I have another honourable mention section like in other years. For this year I’m putting the abstract shots as the honourable mentions.

 

May26_2014_6D_0797-edit-edit
I have been out to Lake Winnipeg about seven times trying to get a shot of a wave with the sun lighting it up from behind. Those of you from Manitoba will know that we don’t get ocean-like waves here. Many things had to come together to get this shot; the wind was strong, the wind was blowing in the right direction, the sky was relatively clear, and it coincided with a time when I wasn’t at work. The goal was to get the water frozen in the air, and I have some shots like that, but I like the movement in this one with the slightly longer shutter speed.

 

May9_2014_6D_2498-edit
The Omar Ali Saifudden Mosque in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei. This is a small country on the island of Borneo. The Sultan is one of the world’s richest people due to the country’s oil reserves. Brunei is small but very interesting to visit; it has great food, it’s safe, there is a lively market, and it boasts the world’s largest stilt village on the river. I have some shots from the “blue hour” after sunset but I like this shot the best.

 

Aug6_2014_XS_0137-edit-edit
An infrared shot of an old leaning house near Melita, Manitoba. Unfortunately when I went back in 2015 the house had leaned all the way down to the ground.

 

July21_2014_6D_0076-edit-edit
I like this one because it looks like the tree is breaking in through the window and has knocked the window frame out. But, there’s nothing for it to steal here except for some old wallpaper.

 

May9_2014_6D_0780 (2)-edit-edit
Thean Hou Temple in Kuala Lumpur. I saw a daytime photo of this place in a brochure and I knew that if I came at dusk the lanterns would be lit up and would make an amazing photo. It’s a little way out of the city centre and my friend and I ended up with no way to get back and it was getting late. Luckily, when we asked a guy if he knew if a bus would be coming by, he offered to drive us into town! We had a good conversation during the drive back; turned out that he was British but living and working in Malaysia.

 

Oct21_2014_6D_5111-edit-edit
Peggy’s Cove, Nova Scotia. I had planned a nice sunset photo for the night before, but a thick fog rolled in, and the place was crawling with tourists anyway. I was staying at a place nearby so I came at sunrise and got this shot. I had the place all to myself for an hour or two, and I highly recommend early morning if you don’t like crowds. Also, I found the rocks to be just as interesting as the lighthouse.

 

June13_2014_6D_0850-edit-edit
Island Lake, Manitoba. Just an interesting set of clouds in the evening.

 

May9_2014_6D_0463-edit
A bridge in Singapore, fairly close to the famous Merlion fountain at the waterfront.

 

July13_2014_6D_0360-edit_1-edit_2-edit_tonemapped-edit-edit
For a few months of the year the setting sun lines up with this house’s window for an interesting effect. I had a few shots of the sun shining through the house but I had to keep coming back because I wanted some interesting clouds in the sky. This is a nice site because it’s only about half an hour from my house; it’s always good to have some nearby photo sites that you can go to if you don’t have a lot of time before sunset/sunrise.

 

June13_2014_6D_0183-edit-edit
McGillivray Falls in Whiteshell Provincial Park, Manitoba. I’ve come here a few times and usually end up focusing on closer up details like this. I liked how this cascade changed directions.

 

Honourable Mentions:

July21_2014_6D_0863-edit-edit-edit
An abstract of a small forest near Stead, Manitoba. This shot was done with a slow shutter speed and tilting the camera during the exposure.

 

May9_2014_6D_0378-edit
A close-up view of Tokyo Tower in (you guessed it) Tokyo, Japan.

 

Mar29_2014_6D_0050-edit-edit
Frost on my bedroom window one morning.

 

May9_2014_6D_0396-edit
A set of small lights near Tokyo Tower. I simply switched to manual focus and put it out of focus to achieve this look.

 

June13_2014_6D_0843-edit-edit
Sunset reflection on Island Lake, Manitoba.

 

June13_2014_6D_1011-edit-edit
Moonlight reflecting on water with a long shutter speed. Island Lake, Manitoba.
Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

